top of page
Search
  • Nick Nantais NEWN

5 Simple Ways To Make Your English Sound More Natural

Updated: Feb 14, 2021

Listen and follow along here

https://open.spotify.com/episode/6ZsArqv3RlEVh397kVCcqj?si=MbfV_oB5SmiH4SBPVec9xA&nd=1

1.) Spoken contractions


I am= I’m

I will= I’ll

I would= I’d

I should have= I should’ve

I could have= I could’ve

All valid in the negative and with all pronouns


Some examples


I’d go for a walk in the park if it wasn’t raining


I’d listen to a podcast if I wasn’t so tired


You’d listen more English if you practised everyday


Could you do me a favour?


Do you really think you should do that?


I should have known


If he had known, he could’ve prevented it


they could’ve made it if they has gotten here a bit earlier


You shouldn’t have!


Try making phrases with these


Go to= “gotta”



Want to= “wanna”



Have to= “hafta”



Go to= “gonna”



Q: Have you seen Money Heist?


A: I have/ I did NOT I’ve in this case.


Would you ever go visit Iran?


I would but I don’t have the money right now


I would but COVID makes it a little difficult




2.) Shorten of "to" and the word you


I have to go to the store.


I got to finish my homework before I go to the concert with my friends.


I’ll let you know as soon as I can.


I’ll be waiting out front for you , when you get to the house


What do you got to study for?


What classes do you have?


Did you lose keys?


When I’m done, I’ll give you a call.


“Gotcha”= I understand


Gotcha, I’ll see you then.


The big takeaway: listen to naturally spoken English speech in more informal contexts so you know how to integrate these contractions appropriately





3.) Learn to replace formal vocabulary with phrasal verbs in the appropriate context.


I’ll consult it= I’ll check out, I’ll take a look at it


I found myself in a dark alley way and I thought someone was going to rob me= I ended up in a dark alley way and I thought someone was going to rob/ mug me



Did you discover what you were looking for? Did you find out what you were looking for? (information)



Did Robert return the book he lent you?



Did Robert give back the book that he lent you?



I never abandon my goals= I never give up on my goals.



Tip: Get used to using phrasal verbs.



4.) When answering “do” questions with do and not the verb


Do you usually go to the beach after work with your family?


I do sometimes, but not always


Did he mention whether he checked out the job posting I sent him?


I’m pretty sure he did, but he didn’t say it directly


Did they bring the supplies I asked them for?


Yes I think they did, I’ll check


Did she give them the books like I told her to?


I don’t think she did, but I can ask her


A big takeaway: Listen to a lot of dialogues



5.) Practise Practise Practise


Be active


Listen a lot


Repeat


To be embedded in your head: to stay in your head for a long period of time.



Final tips


Use shadowing technique to improve your pronunciation.


Listen to content made for natives once you get to an intermediate level.


Speak with people as much as you can.


Make mistakes and don’t get discouraged!



Thank for listening, if you would like to see this project grow and enable me to create more content for you guys, become a Patreon for as little as $1 a month!


10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page